CPS Area Inspections


The Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) is divided into 13 geographical Areas across England and Wales. Charging advice is provided to the police by a country-wide service.

  The CPS also has four casework divisions, each with its own specialism:

  • Central Fraud Division;
  • Organised Crime Division;
  •  Special Crime and Counter Terrorism Division; and
  • Welfare, Rural and Health Division.

HMCPSI inspects individual CPS Areas and divisions and provides assurance to the Attorney General on the performance of the CPS as a whole.

 More information on how we  conduct inspections is here.