Inspection Reports

Probation staff are doing some excellent work with women who commit crime, but their efforts are hampered by a lack of accommodation for women, doubts over the future of Women’s Centres, and a lack of funding.

Published: 29 September 2016

This inspection was the third in our Quality & Impact inspection programme. We found probation services in Derbyshire were a mixed picture.

Published: 22 September 2016

‘…we found an enthusiastic and dedicated group of staff who had built constructive relationships with the children and young people who had offended, and their families.’

Published: 07 September 2016

A third of homeless 16 and 17 year olds who offend placed in unsuitable accommodation, say inspectors

Published: 07 September 2016

This is the second of our new Quality and Impact inspections. We found much to be commended… Staff had maintained a pragmatic approach to the day-to-day work, focusing on responding to risks of harm posed and supporting individuals to change their lives for the better.

Published: 25 August 2016

‘..We found the YOT to be performing well with a highly skilled and tenacious group of practitioners. The team were well supported and directed by managers who were viewed as knowledgeable, competent and committed to the work with children and young people.’

Published: 17 August 2016

‘…Overall, we found that Hackney YJS was performing well in most areas of practice. The quality of pre-sentence, reports needed to improve; some were overlong and lacked focus.’

Published: 17 August 2016

‘…Wokingham YOS were undertaking highly effective work with children and young people. Case managers were skilled, experienced and motivated.Initial referral order panel reports required development to include sufficient information about risk of harm and vulnerability.’

Published: 10 August 2016

‘…we found that practice had improved since our last SQS inspection in June 2014. Case managers had gathered information and analysed the vulnerabilities, offending needs and risks that individual children and young people posed to others.’

Published: 10 August 2016

This is the first of our new Quality & Impact inspections. We found in Durham that the National Probation Service was working well, but needed to produce better court reports to help sentencers. The Community Rehabilitation Company for Durham Tees Valley had introduced a number of promising…

Published: 04 August 2016