Inspection Reports

‘There was some good work in Doncaster by individual case managers and other staff to reduce reoffending, protect the public and safeguard the child or young person….Other aspects of the work were not carried out well enough, often enough.’

Published: 30 September 2015

We found that over the past 18 months Portsmouth YOT and its partners had worked hard to raise performance standards. The improvements achieved were significant and in every criterion that was inspected, progress had been made.

Published: 02 September 2015

‘…we found that the performance of the Ceredigion YJS showed an improvement in the findings from our previous inspection in 2010.’ ‘…canfuom fod perfformiad Gwasanaeth Cyfiawnder Ieuenctid Ceredigion yn dangos gwelliant yn y canfyddiadau o’n harolygiad blaenorol yn 2010.’

Published: 26 August 2015

‘We were pleased that they recognised many of the areas for improvement that arose in this [previous] inspection. Overall, we found a motivated and enthusiastic team. Staff were keen to learn and improve practice, and to ensure that those they worked with received the best possible service.’

Published: 19 August 2015

‘…we found good assessments of offending behaviour and public protection arrangements; these had improved since our last inspection. Case managers knew the children and young people well, and had engaged with them and their parents/carers to understand what was contributing to their offending.’

Published: 12 August 2015

Overall, we found that the performance of the Monmouthshire and Torfaen YOS was consistent with our findings from our previous inspection in 2010.
Yn gyffredinol, canfuom fod perfformiad Gwasanaeth Troseddau Ieuenctid Sir Fynwy a Thorfaen yn gyson â’n canfyddiadau o’n harolygiad blaenorol yn 2010.

Published: 29 July 2015

‘Overall, we found that Plymouth YOT was delivering good quality reports to the court and that staff were skilled at engaging with children and young people and building trusting relationships.’

Published: 22 July 2015

‘Overall, we found a very mixed picture. We saw some individual examples of excellent, committed and creative work. In other cases, assessments and plans were inadequate, and work with children and young people lacked focus.’

Published: 22 July 2015

‘…we found a dedicated staff team where the YOS workers had built constructive relationships both with the children and young people who had offended, and their families.’

Published: 08 July 2015

‘…we found that the quality of work with children and young people in St Helens YOS was good, and had improved since the last inspection in 2009.’

Published: 08 July 2015