Specific reviews

Police and crime commissioners and the Home Secretary can commission HMICFRS inspections. Commissions tend to focus on reviews of police responses to specific incidents or reviews of local policing arrangements.

Our Work  —  Specific reviews

Police and crime commissioners (PCCs) can commission HMICFRS to carry out inspections within their force area. Before accepting a commission from a PCC we will discuss their requirements and the scope of the inspection with them. Terms, including duration and estimated cost, will be agreed before we proceed. HMICFRS will publish the findings from all

Our Work  —  Behind the frontline, Police ethics and accountability, Specific reviews

In December 2006 HMIC inspected Humberside Police and produced a report which considered how the force could improve its performance. The inspection focused on the processes, systems and enablers that are essential for the delivery of effective performance improvement including corporate governance, partnerships, performance management, human resources, finance and strategic issues. As part of the

Our Work  —  International and specialist agencies, Specific reviews

Historical Enquiries Team – July 2013 Upon the request of the chief constable of the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI), in 2012, the Minister of Justice for Northern Ireland commissioned HMIC to inspect the role and function of the Historical Enquiries Team (HET). Read ‘Inspection of the Police Service of Northern Ireland Historical Enquiries Team’ Re-inspection

Our Work  —  International and specialist agencies, Specific reviews

In May 2012, the Association of Chief Police Officers (ACPO) and National Policing Improvement Agency carried out a review of the retention of human tissue by police forces in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. This review made ten recommendations to improve processes and procedures for the retention of human tissue in criminal cases. HMIC was

Our Work  —  Specific reviews

Preparing for police and crime commissioners (PCCs) On 15 November 2012, elections for PCCs were held across England and Wales. PCCs hold chief constables to account for policing in their force area on behalf of the public. New police and crime panels scrutinise the actions and decisions of each PCC and make sure information is

Our Work  —  Large-scale policing, Policing on the beat, Specific reviews

Please note: In July 2017 HMIC took on responsibility for fire & rescue service inspections and was renamed HM Inspectorate of Constabulary and Fire & Rescue Services (HMICFRS). Inspections carried out before July 2017 may continue to refer to HMIC. Adapting to Protest The HMIC report – Adapting to Protest – was published on 7 July 2009.

Our Work  —  Protecting people from violence and abuse, Specific reviews

HMIC’s review of allegations made against Jimmy Savile during his lifetime finds mistakes were made by the police; and while policies and practices designed to improve the experience of child victims. In the review, we raise serious concerns over why so many victims felt unable to come forward and report what had happened to the

Our Work  —  Behind the frontline, Policing on the beat, Specific reviews

In January 2014, the police and crime commissioner for Cheshire commissioned HMIC to review how well Cheshire Constabulary investigates cases of burglary in a dwelling. The review found that senior officers had put in place examples of good practice to oversee the force’s approach to burglary in dwellings. There was also good ownership at a

Our Work  —  Police ethics and accountability, Specific reviews

In January 2010 HMIC assessed whether Nottinghamshire Police and Lincolnshire Police offer appropriate levels of protection to the public; specifically in respect of intelligence sharing and witness protection. This was of significant public interest during the inquests into the deaths of John and Joan Stirland. Both Nottinghamshire Police and

Our Work  —  Specific reviews

HMIC conducted a review of Nottinghamshire Police’s capacity and capability in tackling murder and other serious crime. A report on the review of Nottinghamshire Police’s capacity and capability in tackling murder and other serious crimes – July 2005 A further inspection of Nottinghamshire Police took place in early 2006 and was published in June the same