Specific reviews

Police and crime commissioners and the Home Secretary can commission HMICFRS inspections. Commissions tend to focus on reviews of police responses to specific incidents or reviews of local policing arrangements.

Our Work  —  Large-scale policing, Specific reviews

In June 2014, the five East Midlands police and crime commissioners commissioned HMIC to inspect the effectiveness and efficiency of the single counter-terrorism grant for the region. The report found good evidence that the single counter-terrorism grant arrangement was a more efficient and effective use of public money than previous separate grant arrangements. Read ‘An

Our Work  —  International and specialist agencies, Specific reviews

This inspection has been carried out at the request of the British Transport Police Authority and was conducted by HM Inspector Mr Bernard Hogan-Howe QPM, MBA, MA (Oxon), CCMI. The report on the recent and current performance of the BTP establishes strengths, work in progress and areas for improvement. HMIC fully recognises the

Our Work  —  Behind the frontline, Police ethics and accountability, Policing on the beat, Specific reviews

Crime recording in Kent – 17 June 2013 The Police and Crime Commissioner for Kent commissioned an inspection from HMIC to determine whether the people of Kent can have confidence in Kent Police’s crime figures. Read ‘Crime recording in Kent’ Crime recording in Kent – Interim progress report – 31 January 2014 In February 2013,

Our Work  —  Large-scale policing, Specific reviews

In July 2013, the police and crime commissioners (PCCs) for the East Midlands region (Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire and Nottinghamshire) commissioned HMIC to conduct a review of the arrangements for collaboration between the five forces in the region. The purpose of the commission was: “to provide [the PCCs] with high-level assurance on the overall approach

Our Work  —  Protecting people from violence and abuse, Specific reviews

At the request of the Chief Constable (and subsequently with the agreement of the police and crime commissioner), HMIC examined whether risks to victims of domestic abuse are now being adequately managed in Essex. The inspection also aimed either to prove or to allay HMIC’s concerns that the significant resources Essex Police has invested in

Our Work  —  Behind the frontline, Specific reviews

In 2007, the Deputy Commissioner for the Metropolitan Police Service (MPS) invited HMIC to conduct an inspection of resource leverage. Resource leverage is the way in which organisations maximise their resource capacity and productivity. This is achieved not simply by cutting services or staff but using a full range of approaches including:  accumulating, conserving and concentrating

Our Work  —  Specific reviews

In 2017, the Mayor of London’s Office for Policing and Crime (MOPAC) asked HMICFRS to inspect a Metropolitan Police Service operation into alleged criminal offences arising from the 2014 mayoral election in the London Borough of Tower Hamlets, which involved the outgoing mayor, Lutfur Rahman of the Tower Hamlets First party. HMICFRS accepted the commission

Our Work  —  Specific reviews

The Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) is subject to an annual statutory inspection by HMIC under Section 41 of the Police (Northern Ireland) Act 1998. Inspection findings – February 2011 In this report HMIC examined progress against the targets laid out in the PSNI’s 2010/11 Policing Plan. Read ‘Police Service of Northern Ireland, inspection findings’ Performance

Our Work  —  Specific reviews

In November 2008, the government announced that police authorities would be jointly inspected by HMIC and the Audit Commission across the full range of their activities. These inspections were discontinued in 2010 following the announcement that PCCs would take over from police authorities. Reports Between September 2009 and July 2010 HMIC, the Audit Commission and

Our Work  —  Protecting people from violence and abuse, Specific reviews

A series of inspections by HM Inspectorate of Constabulary (HMIC) has found that Northamptonshire Police has more progress to make before it can offer assurance that children at risk in the county are being adequately protected. In January, as part of a pilot multi-agency inspection of child protection arrangements in Northamptonshire, the inspectorate found that