Skip to content

West Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service

West Yorkshire Fire and Rescue serves the five metropolitan boroughs of City of Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, City of Leeds and City of Wakefield. The Leeds-Bradford Metropolitan county has grown to become the fourth largest in the UK after Greater London, West Midlands and Greater Manchester. The county also has Leeds Bradford International Airport.

The mission of the fire & rescue service is to keep the people of West Yorkshire safe and to provide an efficient and effective service to the community. The service has 41 fire stations and 69 fire engines.

Connect with West Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service

HMICFRS region and HMI

  • Her Majesty’s Inspector of Fire & Rescue Services (HMI):Phil Gormley is HMI for West Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service
  • HMICFRS region: The service is in HMICFRS’s Northern fire region

Contact Phil Gormley

HMICFRS’s role in inspecting this service

For over 160 years, Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Constabulary has independently assessed and reported on the efficiency and effectiveness of police forces and policing, in the public interest.

In summer 2017, HMIC (now HMICFRS) took on inspections of England’s fire & rescue services, assessing and reporting on their efficiency, effectiveness and leadership.

Fire & Rescue Chief

John Roberts