Skip to content

Merseyside Fire and Rescue Service

Merseyside Fire and Rescue Service is the statutory fire & rescue service covering the county of Merseyside in north-west England. The service is made up of five area commands: Liverpool, Wirral, Sefton, Knowsley, and St Helens.

The service provides a wide range of emergency response and prevention services. It has 26 stations and a marine rescue unit which protects and responds to the 1.4 million residents of Merseyside. Its purpose is to make Merseyside a safer, stronger and healthier community. The service’s home fire safety check programme is at the heart of its prevention strategy. It has fitted over 1 million free smoke detectors, giving bespoke fire safety advice and directing at-risk members of the community to partner service providers.

Connect with Merseyside Fire and Rescue Service

HMICFRS region and HMI

  • Her Majesty’s Inspector of Fire & Rescue Services (HMI): Phil Gormley is HMI for Merseyside Fire and Rescue Service
  • HMICFRS region: The service is in HMICFRS’ Northern fire region

Contact Phil Gormley

HMICFRS’ role in inspecting this service

For over 160 years, Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Constabulary has independently assessed and reported on the efficiency and effectiveness of police forces and policing, in the public interest.

In summer 2017, HMIC (now HMICFRS) took on inspections of England’s fire & rescue services, assessing and reporting on their efficiency, effectiveness and leadership.

Fire & Rescue Chief

Phil Garrigan