Skip to content

Lancashire Fire and Rescue Service

Lancashire Fire and Rescue Service is the county-wide, statutory emergency fire & rescue service for the county of Lancashire. Lancashire is located in North West England. Prominent cities and towns in the area include Lancaster, Preston and Blackpool. There is also an airport in Blackpool.

The service is made up of six area commands: Northern, Southern, Eastern, Western, Central and Pennine. Within these areas there are 39 stations providing Lancashire with 24-hour fire cover.

Connect with Lancashire Fire and Rescue Service

HMICFRS region and HMI

  • Her Majesty’s Inspector of Fire & Rescue Services (HMI): Phil Gormley is HMI for Lancashire Fire and Rescue Service
  • HMICFRS region: The service is in HMICFRS’ Northern fire region

Contact Phil Gormley

HMICFRS’ role in inspecting this service

For over 160 years, Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Constabulary independently assessed and reported on the efficiency and effectiveness of police forces and policing, in the public interest.

In summer 2017, HMIC (now HMICFRS) took on inspections of England’s fire & rescue services, assessing and reporting on their efficiency, effectiveness and leadership.

Fire & Rescue Chief

Chris Kenny